International Society of Electrochemistry


facebook linkedIn

Tajima Prize

The Tajima Prize recognises the contributions made by younger electrochemists. Awards are made every year. Candidates must meet the age eligibility condition according to Tajima Prize rules.


Rules for the Tajima Prize

SUBMISSION OF AWARD APPLICATION: All correspondence, whether by mail or email and including that for awards joint between ISE and other societies, should be sent to the ISE Office. Unsuccessful candidates can re-apply in a subsequent year, provided that they still meet the age requirements.



The Tajima Prize of the International Society of Electrochemistry was donated by Professor Sakae Tajima. A second donation was made by the ISE Japan Section, from the surplus of the Annual Meeting 2011.


The Tajima Prize may be awarded annually to an electrochemist on the basis of published work.


Applicants must be less than 40 years of age on 1 June of the year of application. The age limit may be extended, upon request of the applicant, for example due to formal period(s) of maternal, paternal or adoptive leave, compulsory leave for civil or military service, illness or other exceptional circumstances. The applicant is asked to provide evidence in support of their extension request. This evidence has to be submitted as a part of the curriculum vitae. Each application for age limit extension will be considered individually by the Award committee.


The prize consists of a certificate and the sum of 1000 Swiss Francs.


The applicant must be an ISE member in good standing and have published at least one paper in Electrochimica Acta.


Candidates should apply on their own behalf.


The application should be uploaded via the Submission Site and consist of the following items:

  1. a curriculum vitae

  2. a publication record
    a maximum of ten of the most relevant publications

  3. a statement of a senior electrochemist concerning the scientific contribution of the candidate to any joint publications.

  4. All documents uploaded must be in PDF format.


The winner is expected to give a 40-minute lecture at the Annual ISE Meeting of the next year. ISE will pay for his/her registration and banquet fees.

Award is closed

Previous winners
R. Holze (1985), B. Scharifker (1986), R. McIntyre (1986), H.H. Abruna (1987), P. Novak (1988), P. Linhardt (1989), L. Elfenthal (1989), J.M. Rodriguez-Mellado (1990), P.N. Bartlett (1992), J. Stumper (1993), S. Mafé (1994), L.B. Kriksunov (1995), C. Barbero (1996), G. Láng (1997), M. Kalaji (1998), S. Córdoba de Torresi (1999), M.T.M Koper (2000), D.J. Fermin (2001), M. Mohamedi (2002), R. Nichols (2003), J. Fleig (2004), S. Chen (2005), Alain Walcarius (2006), Chi-Chang Hu (2007), Yang Shao-Horn (2008), Patrice Simon (2009), Shelley Minteer (2010), Hogan Yu (2011), Jaeyoung Lee (2012), Tim Albrecht (2013), Yu-Guo Guo (2014), Hu Yongsheng (2015), Mikhail L. Zheludkevich (2016), Xile Hu (2017), Stefan Freunberger (2018), S. Inagi (2019), C. Santoro (2020), B. McCloskey (2021), D. Silvester Dean (2022), Federico Bella (2023). .